Yuwa Barsha Moti Puraskar Conferred on Poet Sarang

Shilash Thapa Tamang
Kathmandu, 14 September

Poet and writer Pramod Sarang has been awarded with Yuwa Barsha Moti Puraskar, 2080 amid a poetry conference organized by Nepali Education Council marking the 158th birth anniversary of Yuba Kabi Moti Ram Bhatta on Thursday at Lekhnath Sahitya Sadan, Sorakhutte.

The event was chaired by the president of Nepali Education Council Rama Sharma. Litterateur Mukunda Sharma Chalise, who had attended the event as the Chief Guest, handed over the award to poet Sarang.

A judicial committee formed under Prof Dr. Madhav Phokhrel had finalized the name of the winner of the award.

The award, established by Nepali Education Council in 1985 is funded by National Youth Service Fund. Presently, it carries a purse of 40,000 rupees and a citation.  Every year the Foundation confers Yuwa Barsha Moti Puraskar on the birth anniversary of Moti Ram Bhatta to a Nepali poet of below 40 years of age and meeting the criteria set by the Foundation.

“The recipient of the award  should resemble the qualities of Yuwa Kabi Moti Ram Bhatta, that is, one should not be only a poet but an inspirational poet for the younger generation” said Shankhar Pandey, the treasurer of the foundation.

The event also commemorated poets and writers who passed away in the recent times. As many as 21 poets and writers who passed in the past one year were paid homage offering floral tributes and by maintaining a brief silence. A short biography of each of the late poets and writers was read out in the event.

Poet Chandra Vadana Ghimire was also honoured for her continuous participation in the poetry recitation events organized by the Council for the last 25 years.

The event also features a special poetry recitation session on the subject Laj Afai Lajayo. A number of poets recited their poems mimicking the existing situation of the country.

Nepali Education foundation was established in 1949 and has been actively working for the protection and promotion of Nepali art and literature. It has established different awards that are conferred at different occasions to various literary contributors.