National Youth Poetry Festival Held: Poet Suraj Parajuli Declared the Winner

Kathmandu, October 14

Suraj Parajiuli has been declared the winner of ‘Open Poetry Competition’ held today in Hetauda. Sunsari based poet Parajuli had recited his poetry titled Parkhai  that let  him to secure the first prize.

Similarly Pradip Anjan from Chitwan has been declared the first runner-up while Alisha Eaklash from Nuwakot stood second runner-up in the competition. Poets Pradip and Alisha had recited their poems titled Kundali and Nirdho Bakra Rekha in the competition respectively.

Likewise, Bhim Prasad Khadiwada was presented with the consolation prize for his poem Mero Yatra.

The competition was organized by Bagmati Province Youth Council in collaboration with Sahitya Sangam Makwanpur. Earlier, the council had announced the shortlist of 20 poems selected from 153 poems before declaring the finalists.

All the title recipients were cash prized with 40000, 30000, 20000 and 10000 rupees respectively along with a citation for each.