INLS Announces Best Book Award Winners; SahityaPost Editor Paudyal named ‘Best Storywriter’

Kathmandu, 16 July

International Nepali Literary Society (INLS) has announced winners of the best book prizes for the years 2021 and 22. In a virtual event organized to mark the 39th Annual Conference of the Society alongside the 210th birth anniversary of the first Nepali poet Bhanubhakta Acharya on Saturday, the Society declared the names of the winners. Coordinator of the prize committee, Mr.  Tirtha Raj Pandey made the announcement in the session chaired by INLS President Govardhan Pooja. Rana Kafle’s novel Raithane was named ‘INLS Best Book’ and was entitled to win 2000 US dollars, besides a citation. Other winners in line were Maheshwar Pant’s Bahulako Diary (best book by a Nepali diaspora), Shri Babu Karki’s Sandigdha Shatabdi (best essay book), Kalpana Kharel’s Rani Talau (best novel), Ganesh Kumar GC’s Araniko Asia Ek Prastavana (best book on culture and philosophy), Sindhu Poudel’s Mrita Sagarko Uchaibata (Rashtrakavi Madhav Ghimire best poetry book), Dr. Govinda Acharya’s Dangi Urvashi (Rashtrakavi poetic award), Nirmohi Vyas’ Awara Badal (best travelogue) and Mahesh Paudyal’s Aparichit Anuhar (best story collection). All these awards carry a cash prize of one thousand American dollar.

Similarly, Khem Rizal’s ghazal collection Urja was chosen for best song/ghazal award.  This award carries a cash prize of 500 US Dollars. Sunil Pathak Distinguished Award, conferred to someone with commendable contribution to the development of INLS was announced in favor of senior writer and former INLS chair Mohan Sitaula. The award carries a cash prize of 2000 US Dollars.

During the event, it was revealed that the prizes will be distributed to the recipients on a special occasion on Laxmi Jayanti this year in the Washington DC.