Guragain and Rai to receive Identity Award 2079

Kathmandu, December 15

This year’s identity Award (Pahichan Puraskar) will jointly be presented to two books; ‘Junction Pipalbot’, non-a  fiction by Prakash Guragain and ‘Thangra’, a work of fiction by Pragya Rai.

The press statement issued by the Pahichan Puraskar Fund reads that  the meeting of the Fund held on Tuesday took the decision to award the two books with 2079 Identity Award.  Before announcing the finalists, the Fund had nominated eight books for the award. The nominated books were Thangra by Pragati Rai, ‘Atowoda’ by Januka Khatiwada,  ‘Rasia Raag’ by Karuna Rai, ‘Kami’ by Manjul Miteri,  ‘Ma Dwara Mero Nirman’ by Parajit Pomu, ‘Junction Pipalbot’ by Prakash Guragain,  ‘Tin Pharak Bisaya’ written jointly by Sribhakta Khanal, Khemraj Ranabhat and ‘Sunyako Mulya’ by Dr. Navaraj KC.

The award carries a purse of . 402,002 rupees.

A member of Free Generation Movement (Unmukta Pusta Andolan), Guragin’s Junction Pipalbot is the literary history of 70 years old of which the Pipalbot of Newroad, Kathmandu, is taken as a central point. A warrior of identity politics, Rai’s Thangra speaks for all sorts of rights for women and against caste system.

Previously, nine books had received the award while author and civil activist Khagendra Sangraula was awarded with Identity Honour. The award and the honour are targeted to boost identity politics through literature.

It is stated that the award will be handed over to the winners  amid a special event that will be held in Chakhiya of Temke Maiyung Rural Municipality-4 of Bhojpur district on 22 Baishakh, 2081 BS.