Establishment of Muktakalaya Nepal: A Milestone in Nepali Literary Promotion

A seven-member working committee named “Muktakalaya Nepal” has been established to foster the development and promotion of Muktak, a form of short poem in Nepali literature. The committee was announced during a special ceremony held at Nepal Academy in the capital city on Saturday.

Muktak writer Nilanjala Bhardwaj has been elected as the chairman of Muktakalaya Nepal, with muktak writer Sunil Adhikari serving as the patron to the committee. Additionally, Yogaraj Acharya (Chimeki Dai) has been elected as the vice-chairman, Devi Banskota as the secretary, and Kamala Ghimire Adhikari as the treasurer of the newly formed committee. Furthermore, Saurabh Karanjit, Bimal Jha, and Prachanda Gautam have been elected as members of the organization.

The committee was formed with the aim of promoting the campaign “Muktakalaya Nepal: Respect for Muktak and Muktak Writers.” It has been announced that Muktakalaya Nepal will organize the “Muktak Photo Competition” on an institutional level. Previously, muktak writer Sunil Adhikari had been personally spearheading this campaign for a considerable period.

The program was chaired by senior litterateur Usha Sherchan and chaired by muktak writer Sunil Adhikari. An endowment of  1,60,800 rupees was established under Muktakalaya Nepal. It was also disclosed that various activities related to Muktak will be funded from the annual income of this perpetual fund.

During the program, a financial support of 40,000 rupees was provided to the young muktak writer Subas Chandra Bishwakarma from Dadeldhura for his medical treatment.