Bimal Gurung Literary Award to Chandra Gurung and Bantawa Kailashi

Kathmandu, November 7

The Bimal Gurung Literary Award for 2079  has been jointly awarded to Chandra Gurung and  Vijay Bantawa Kailashi. The award ceremony was organized by Bimal Memorial Library marking  52nd birth anniversary of poet Bimal Gurung and the 32nd National Poetry Festival at the library premises in Dharan on Sunday.

The award was conferred on poet Chandra for his poetry anthology ‘Jaba Eauuta Manche Haraucha’ and Vijay Bantawa for his essay collection ‘Mithyangsa’. 

The award recipients were together cash prized with a sum of 200,000 rupees and a citation. Likewise, poet Vishal Nalbo, from Kalimpong, India, was honoured with this year’s Youth Talent Award, along with a cash prize of 10,000 rupees.

The event also unviled late poet Bimal Gurung’s poetry collections ‘Saharko Pragad Maunata’ and ‘Shabda Chitrama Kavi Bimal Gurung’.

While, the event also declared the winners of the 32nd National Poetry Festival that was organized to commemorate late poet Bimal Gurung. Sunsari based poet Bhim Virhi Rai clinched the first position with his poem titled  ‘Ma Pahila Maraun Ki Mero Desh’. Elissa Eklas of Kathmandu stood second , while Sandhya Singjango Subba from Sikkim, came in third in the National Poetry Festival.

The winners were awarded with cash prize 21000, 18000 and 15000 rupees respectively along with a citation for each.

The prizes and certificates were presented to the winners by the chief guest, poet Jasraj Kirati, along with Purna Bahadur Gurung, the programme chairman and the library management committee.