15 Books longlisted for ‘Padmashree Literature Award-2080’

Fifteen books have been longlisted in the first phase for the ‘Padmashree Literary Award-2080’. The longlist was released by Khemlal-Harikala Lamichhane Samaaj Kalyan Pratisthan from a total of 186 literary works it received from different authors for the award. All the books were published within 2080 BS.

The longlisted books include Adiyeka Paila (novel) by Bishnu Sapkota, Advait (novel) by Krishna Gautam, Arko Deshma (story collection) by Sanu Sharma, Galli Sansar (essay collection)by Roshan Sherchan, Godhuli Geet (novel) by Bhanu Bokhim, Gopicha (novel)by Bishwo Kuinkel, and Jogiyana (memoir)by Kumar Nagarkoti.

Similarly, the list includes Bahadur Shah (novel)by Chiranjivi Wagley, Bagi Stri ko Aatmakatha (poetry collection) by Sumina, Badaldanda  (travel writing) by Rajendraman Dangol, Bora (novel)by Akhand Bhandari, Bhrikuti (novel) by Govinda Prasad Kusum, London Unplugged (memoir) by Gopi Sapkota, Sanskriti Chintan (essay collection) by Arun Gupta, and Sakhejungko Ukalo (real life fiction) by Bhuvanhari Sigdel.

From this list, the committee will select a short list of five outstanding books next month.

Founded by writer and businessman Jiba Lamichhane in honour of his parents, the Padmashree Literary Award is presented annually to the best literary work published in Nepali literature within a given year. The award carries a purse of 3,00,000 rupees.